Roland X. Tiemann - Experienced, Affordable, Aggressive, Dedicated, Northern California DUI Defense Lawyer
cdla

License Suspension

Facts You Need to Know

In the State of California driving is viewed as a privilege and not as a right.  When you signed off to receive your driver's license, you agreed to undergo a breath or blood test, should it be requested by a police officer.  If you refused to be tested at the time of your DUI arrest your driving privileges will have been automatically suspended. There are several ways you can lose your driving privileges when you have been charged with a DUI offense.   At the Tiemann Law Firm, we know that having your license suspended or revoked can be a major unwanted change in your life.   A knowledgeable Sacramento DUI defense attorney can work with you to provide the best possible defense against the DUI penalties you are now facing.

A suspension of your license means your privilege to drive has been temporarily withdrawn.  This restriction is for a specified amount of time.  The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may require that certain conditions be met before they restore your privilege to drive.  Having your license revoked means your driving privilege is terminated and after a certain amount of time you can get a new license.  As with a suspension, there are certain conditions that must be met in order for you to get a new license.  In either case, not being able to drive can adversely affect your normal daily activities, including your ability to be employed.  We want to put our experience to work for you towards getting your license back as quickly as possible.

What penalties will you face?

You will face a 4-month suspension of your license if you are 21 years of age or older, it is your first DUI offense and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was .08% or higher.  A second offense within a 10 year period for those aged 21 or above will receive a 1-year suspension.  Refusal to submit to testing if you are over 21 results in a 1-year suspension of your license if it is your first offense.  The penalties increase with additional DUI offenses within a 10-year period.  If you are under 21 years of age the penalties will be more severe. Being under 21 and refusing to be tested can get your license revoked for up to 3 years in some cases.

There are two separate means by which your driver's license can be suspended or revoked.  The DMV can take an administrative action to remove or suspend your driving privileges.  It is your right to request a hearing to contest your privileges being taken away and we can work with you to get the best possible outcome in this hearing.  If you are convicted of a DUI charge the court can suspend or revoke you license as well as impose fines, jail time and other penalties.  Depending on your individual circumstances, DUI cases can be successfully defended.  Sometimes a person can be acquitted of the charges or we can work to get you a restricted driver's license so that you can still get on with your life.  DUI charges are taken seriously and you need an attorney who takes your defense just as seriously.

Contact a Sacramento License Suspension Lawyer if you have been arrested for DUI and now face suspension or revocation of your license.

CALL NOW FOR YOUR
FREE CONSULTATION
For more information call Roland X. Tiemann
at (916) 939-3900 - (530) 621-1800
View our blog.

Media Center.

Review this Attorney.

Make a payment 

Speak to an attorney.
Fill out the form below.




Please enter the anti-spam code below (case sensitive):
verification code

Communities Served:

 

 

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation.
This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

©2011- Law Office of Roland X. Tiemann